Skip to content

My addiction

February 14, 2011

At my worst I was getting through 2 or 3 bottles a week.

I tried it for the first time last March, and was instantly hooked.  I yelled about it’s gloriousness from the rooftops.  I persuaded ALL of my friends to give it a go.  ‘This is smashing!’, I chuffed.

I stopped washing.

All I needed was myself and my DRY SHAMPOO.

I could not get enough.

This miracle product meant I no longer had to bother with a hairdresser.  It made the dark roots on my blonde hair vanish!  It gave an amazing amount of volume, an extra 20 minutes of kip each morning AND it meant that in a going-straight-out emergency, I no longer had to resort to the fringe wash.  It was magic.

But, every story of addiction has a sorry tale.  There I was, so busy admiring my voluptious barnet, I neglected to notice the ever increasing pimples spawn across my forehead.  I was clueless to my receding hairline (that’s right, Receding) and I failed to realise that a bottle at £2.89 ever couple of days was costing me more than a monthly outing to Toni & Guy.  What a fool.

I fell privy to it’s charms because I was lazy.  But on that fateful morning (last week), when I realised the error of my ways (mum said “do you ever wash that stuff out?! No wonder you have spots!”) I cleaned up my act.  And since I’ve been on the straight and narrow my skin has cleared up, my hair has started growing again and (dare I say it) looks almost GLOSSY!

I take back the acclaim!  Dry shampoo is EVIL.

(I realise this post has absolutely nothing to do with sewing, but it has something to do with pretty and I feel it should serve as a warning to fellow ladies reaching for the bottle of Batitse.  Don’t Do It Gals!)

In the bin... where you belong Batiste!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 11:19 am

    I only ever use this stuff when I go to festivals – and even then I loath doing it – talcum power would be a better alternative…

  2. February 17, 2011 3:09 pm

    Receding?! Ekkk! Yeah I was a HUGE fan of the stuff when we bought our doer-upper flat that didn’t really have a bathroom. My problem with it is that I have dark hair so I have to make sure I rub it in probably or I just look like I’m going grey!

    • londonseamstress permalink*
      February 21, 2011 11:28 pm

      Apparently they now do coloured dry shampoo for dark hair (I know too much). But the moral of the story – avoid avoid avoid!!

Leave a Reply

