Skip to content

Hospital scrubs

February 27, 2010

I’ve been out of action for the past 2 weeks.  I’ve also only just progressed from wearing a hospital gown to pj’s.

GASP.

I’ve never been a fan of pyjamas in the style stakes.  They are not made for women who are 5’11.  The bottoms swing above my ankles, and instead of feeling snug they make me look crazy, thus I avoid them AT ALL COSTS.

So why in God’s name am I currently roaming about in sleep-wear?

Well, two weeks ago I went up to Leeds to see some old friends.  We had just settled down to the yummiest dinner when the smoke alarm went off.  There was a fire in the bathroom, and the flames were spreading so quickly we couldn’t get out the front door.   You never expect these things to happen to you, and any fire safety videos I watched at school were blank in my head.  We were three storeys high and I was clinging to the gutter hanging from the kitchen window when I heard something blow up inside.  I had to jump.

I broke my spine.  In two places.  Painful.

It took a few phone calls for my boss to actually believe my story come Monday morning!

On Thursday I traded the hospital gown in and was sent on a four hour journey by ambulance to my parents’ house.  I’m sleeping in my sister’s room, which is scaring me as it still has wind chimes and borders and a ying-yang poster.  A 1990’s shrine.  As I was only planning on staying in Leeds for one night I’m seriously lacking on the clothes and pant front, but even as the fashion obsessive that I am, sometimes, who really gives a shit how you look?

I’m just glad to be able to walk.

Sorry to show off, but look! So high

With lots of love to my fellow dare-devil jumpers, glad you are all ok.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 10:27 am

    Hey sweetie! Hope you are okay today – want to come up and see you real soon – might go with Amit when he comes up and sooner if I can find the time! Will try and maybe call you tomorrow? Or Thurs…xxx

  2. March 2, 2010 3:14 pm

    You tell it so much better than me! I’m annoyingly undramatic. How are you doing today? I am back at work which is good but work are v stressed with me being back which is bad. I have had to tell the story a lot today and when I do I get the same reaction:

    “Oh my God. And you are alive”

    Which is quite silly really as that is quite obvious.

    How are your people’s reactions?

    Love you fellow jumper (lets not do that again)…

    xxxxxxx

  3. Laura permalink
    March 5, 2010 2:31 pm

    Shall I send paper patterns, cotton and fabric? Love you too fellow jumper (I second Livy, let’s not do it again!)

Leave a Reply

