Skip to content

Fakes and Ladders

October 7, 2009

I have just got ANOTHER tear in the foot of my tights.  Now I see why American soldiers were so popular in WW2, please can someone bring me new stockings!  I am rubbish at darning holes and in serious danger of looking like Nora Batty with the mumps.

Damn this no-clothes-oath!

I would adopt the fake tan route and do away with my tights (just like the women in the war – paint those bad boys on!) BUT I would freeze my arse off.  Nora fashionista it is then!

 HU013030

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Hulton-Deutsch Collection/CORBIS
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 1:20 pm

    Hun, do you need us to buy you some tights? Surely tights don’t come into the clothing rule…they must be the exception right?! I mean – who darns tights these days?!

  2. londonseamstress permalink*
    October 7, 2009 1:43 pm

    I do! Buying them would be breaking the rules, BUT I’m not sure I can survive a WHOLE winter on my current supply. I have just one hole free pair left!

    Maybe I should start wearing over the knee socks instead? I just don’t want to risk looking like a spice girl in the 90s…

  3. Slice of Pie permalink
    October 16, 2009 3:23 pm

    Would you be allowed to accept the gift of tights, if so what colour, size denier etc!

Leave a Reply

